Aviation Body Awards Mactan Airport

Philippines First Aerodrome Certificate

July 30, 2011

Photo is loading...

After three years since the effectivity of Republic Act RA 9497 (Act creating CAAP), the Philippines Civil Aviation Regulators awarded yesterday Mactan-Cebu International Airport Authority (MCIAA) its first Aerodrome Certificate mandated by said law for passing the international aerodrome standards according to ICAO (International Civil Aviation Organization) protocols.

Under Aviation Regulation 139.050, otherwise known as the "Civil Aviation Regulations for Aerodrome," Mactan airport was the first airport in the country to have complied all the requirements for the conduct of safe airport operations, from manpower, safety, fire and rescue, and other services requirements on what certified airports should be.

"It is the first airport in the country that is certified by CAAP in accord with ICAO aerodrome standards" Inocencio Ynsierto,ICAO representative in the Philippines said yesterday.

Mactan-Cebu International Airport bested Ninoy Aquino International Airport in Luzon and Davao International Airport in Mindanao on the race for certification. NAIA and Davao airports are operated by MIAA.

Cebu's airport authority who is headed by General Manager Nigel Paul Villarete was grateful for the recognition, saying that it was his Airport Operations Department that made compliance possible.

“Since the MCIA is now the safest in the Philippines, it will attract more people to come to Cebu,” statement from the airport operator said.

Fifteen other airports in the country are undergoing certification process. Among them are Manila-NAIA, Manila-Clark, Bacolod, Iloilo, Tacloban, Davao, Cagayan De Oro, Zamboanga and Puerto Princesa.

The Civil Aviation Authority was establish in 2008 after the country’s repeated failure to comply with international aviation industry’s safety standards as certified by the Federal Aviation Authority (FAA) of the United States and the International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO.

Up to this date, the Philippines is still listed as category 2 (non-compliant) country of the FAA and was recently blacklisted by the European Union for its airline flying its airspace.

No comments:

Post a Comment