$18 Million VOR/DME faciltiy earmark for 14 Airports

May 19, 2012

The Department of Transportation and Communication (DOTC) announced Tuesday the earmarking of $18 million dollars (P800 million) for the upgrading of 14 domestic airports across the country.

Secretary Manuel Roxas said the fund has already been transferred to the Civil Aviation Authority of the Philippines (CAAP) for project implementation covering major domestic airports to be capable of night landing operations as part of the solutions to the seasonal  congestion at the airport.

Phase one of the project covers the airport of Tagbilaran, Legaspi, Butuan, and Naga, while Phase II covers the airports Dumaguete, Ozamis, Cotabato, Dipolog, Roxas, Pagadian, Tuguegarao, Busuanga, Surigao, and San Jose.

Caticlan airport upgrade for night flight operation is currently ongoing.

CAAP  presently has 14 airports capable of night landing operations. They are the Ninoy Aquino International Airport, Clark International Airport, Subic International Airport, Mactan-Cebu International Airport, Davao International Airport (Davao), Iloilo Airport, Cagayan De Oro Airport, Bacolod Silay Airport, Kalibo International Airport, Tacloban Airport, Puerto Princesa International Airport, Zamboanga International Airport, General Santos International Airport and Laoag International Airport.

The installation of night landing facilities on the 14 airports will  pave the way for the  domestic carriers to ease traffic at the NAIA where they can now schedule their flights out of NAIA on non-peak hours.  They can then make a turn-around flight and still be able to leave some provincial airports at anytime of the day.

Meanwhile, Roxas  also announced during the signing of a Memorandum of Agreement (MOA) with domestic airline operators for the integration of the terminal fee  into the airfare, that another 100 million pesos was approved for the rehabilitation of  the 30-year old Terminal 1 and another 50 million pesos for the repair of Terminal 3.

No comments:

Post a Comment